Black Beans

6 Aug

I’ve been trying to cook more beans for the family – inexpensive protien!  We’re not huge bean fans though, so I was thrilled when this recipe (thank you Simply Recipes!) turned out to be so good. 

hot peppers, parsley, Thai basil

I went easy on the heat for the kids.  I used hot peppers from the garden, and parsley and Thai basil instead of cilantro.  My cilantro’s already gone to seed.

We ate the leftovers the next day with sprinkled with cheddar cheese.

Spicy Citrusy Black Beans

  • 1 lb dried black beans, rinsed & soaked
  • 2-3 sprigs fresh oregano
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 4 T olive oil
  • 1  onion, diced – any kind is fine
  • 2 hot peppers, seeded and minced
  • 6 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 T Tabasco
  • 1 tsp pureed chipotle in adobo
  • 1 tsp ground sage
  • 1 T cumin
  • juice of one orange
  • juice of one lime
  • 2 T rice vinegar
  • 2 T each fresh Thai basil & flat-leaf parsley, chopped

Add beans, oregano, bay leaves, and salt to a large pot with water to cover by about an inch.  Bring to a boil, then simmer until beans are soft but not quite done, 30-90 minutes.

In a small saute pan, heat olive oil.  Saute onions and peppers until soft.  Add Tasbasco, cumin, sage, chipotles, and garlic.  Suate until spices are fragrant.

Remove oregano stems and bay leaves from the beans.  Add onion mixture, and cook another hour, until thick and beans are cooked completely.

Add orange juice, lime juice, and vinegar.  Add more Tabasco, chili powder, and/or salt if needed.  Stir in Thai basil and parsley.

2 Responses to “Black Beans”

  1. Becca August 19, 2009 at 3:21 pm #

    I’m going to try this recipe-it looks great. I think I’ll use poblanos. They’re my current favorite pepper. Did this work as a main dish, or did you use it as a side?

  2. Kate August 21, 2009 at 6:23 pm #

    I’ll bring you some poblanos – I have a ton. I used it as a side dish, I think with grilled chicken, but it would be great with bread and salad too.

Leave a Reply

