Fall Planting

15 Aug

seed packetsI planted my late summer/fall vegetables today: broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, radishes, & mache.  The fall seed selection around here is dismal.  I ordered from Bountiful Gardens.  They had a great selection of open-pollinated seeds at very reasonable prices. 

 

bountyMy zucchini plant is still going strong.  I’m planning one more batch of pickles, plus more grated for the freezer.  I made tomato chutney this week – look for a recipe in a few days.  I also finally harvested enough okra to bother cooking it.  I planted most of my okra too early, and it didn’t come up, so I’ve only got 5 plants.  I’ll plan better next year. 

hot peppersI have tons of hot peppers.  We’ll be having lots of stuffed poblanos in the next few weeks, and I’m going to dry a bunch as well.

The first canteloupe should be ready any day now.  Also a few cucmber stragglers – didn’t get very many this year, but the cukes I got were very good – not a hint of bitterness, and a nice mild, sweet taste.

2 Responses to “Fall Planting”

  1. Dad August 22, 2009 at 1:02 am #

    What’s mache? I’m sorry to hear that about your zucchini plant.

    • Kate August 22, 2009 at 2:14 am #

      Luckily, I have a stockpile of shredded zucchini in my freezer.
      Mache is a green – little tiny leaves, with a mild flavor

Leave a Reply

