Ham & Cheese Croquettes

4 Sep

croquettesAre we sensing a theme?  I’ve made croquettes before, but they fell apart in the pan.  This time I chilled them before cooking and was much more successful.

I first tried to shape the croquettes by hand, and ended up a sticky mess.  Then I tried 2 spoons and that was equally unsuccessful.   I finally pulled out an ice cream scoop, and it worked perfectly!  Pack the mixture in and round the top with your palm, then roll it out.  Dip the scoop in cold water to keep from sticking.

I didn’t measure anything, so the recipe amounts are approximate.

Ham & Cheese Croquettes

oregano

 

 

 

 

For about 12 croquettes, mix together:

1 c ground ham
1 c cooked rice – I used brown rice
2-3 beaten eggs
1/2 – 3/4  c shredded cheese – I used a cheddar/monterey blend
2 T chopped fresh herbs – I used oregano
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper

uncooked croquettesUsing an ice cream scoop, shape into ovals.  Roll in flour seasoned with salt.  Refrigerate at least one hour until firm.

In a saute pan, heat on high enough olive oil to generously cover the bottom of the pan.  When oil starts to smoke, reduce heat to medium high.  

floured croquettesAdd croquettes to pan without letting them touch.  Depending on the size of your pan, you may need to fry several batches.  Turn frequently to brown all sides. 

frying croquettes

Remove and drain on paper towels.   Sprinkle with chili powder if desired.

Refrigerate leftovers, and eat cold or hot.

One Response to “Ham & Cheese Croquettes”

  1. Dad September 7, 2009 at 2:14 am #

    I don’t think this works and, furthermore, I suspect that you’re using photoshopped images. Physical evidence would verify your claim.

Leave a Reply

