22 Sep

I’m experimenting with different header photographs until I find one I really like, so you may see a new photo at the top when you visit the site.  I’d be happy to hear opinions.

4 Responses to “”

  1. Dad September 25, 2009 at 12:18 am #

    As for attracting or retaining visitors, I don’t think it matters a great deal. Almost any colorful photo that depicts fresh natural food is good. You can even rotate the photo. This is the “visual teaser” method employed by Google and, more recently, Bing. The home page photo or graphic changes, so that there is often an element of surprise or freshness.

    You might even try a photo of the house. An old farmhouse fits well with the notion of growing and consuming your own natural food. It would take some care to make a house photo fit in a long horizontal banner, but it might be worth a try–maybe a long shot from in front that captures the mountains in the background–especially with a colorful sunset.

  2. Kate September 25, 2009 at 12:24 am #

    I’m not sure if rotating the photo is best. Since I don’t have quite the name recognition of Google, it might be best to make that first image consistent and memorable. I like the idea about the house, though.

  3. Dawn Beachley September 29, 2009 at 7:49 pm #

    I like the idea of the house!

  4. Becky October 1, 2009 at 10:04 pm #

    I like the picture, but I’m not big on the font of your headings…kind of plain and sterile…I do think the house would be good if you could swing it!

Leave a Reply

