Lunch Box

20 Oct

More Not-Deli-Meat Lunch Box Ideas:

Pasta salad – I always make extra when we have pasta for dinner, and toss it with some broccoli, shredded carrots, chicken, cheese – whatever’s in the fridge the kids will eat!

Cheese and crackers – my favorite are Triscuit w/ a Hint of Salt – only 3 ingredients, none of which you need to sound out!

Yogurt – my kids think this yogurt is a big treat, and I intend to keep it that way.

Chicken Salad – use half tomato chutney or cranberry sauce, half mayo for a lot of flavor and not a lot of fat.

Leftover Ham & Cheese Biscuits

I’d love to hear your favorite lunches for kids – post in the comments!

2 Responses to “Lunch Box”

  1. Shelly October 30, 2009 at 7:58 am #

    I am sorry—my kid insists on eating the exact same lunch each day at school: peanut butter and honey sandwich, an apple, tostitos. When I have to I mix in cheese, other fruits, and crackers. That’s it! I guess I’m lucky he likes routine, but I’ve often wanted to pack bento boxes.

  2. Elissa Pugh-Arguello November 3, 2009 at 2:39 pm #

    I love reading about packed lunch alternatives! I enjoy putting peanut butter, honey, and Grape Nuts in a whole wheat tortilla. It’s especially good warmed in the microwave but is still tasty at room temperature.

    I’m also a fan of chips, pita or veggies with salsa, dip or hummus.

    Now I’m hungry!

Leave a Reply

