Shrimp & Corn Turnovers

14 Dec

I was stumped for dinner ideas the other night.  I needed something quick, and was low on groceries.  I had a pound of shrimp, a half-bag of frozen corn, one sheet of puff pastry, and a quarter jar of black bean & corn salsa, so I whipped up some shrimp & corn pastries which were really good.  I mixed all the aforementioned ingredients with some cheddar cheese, rolled out the pastry to make 12 squares, filled, and baked them.  I brushed the tops with egg wash and sprinkled half  with chili powder before baking.   

I had lots of extra filling – you really only need about a 1/3 pound shrimp – so I tossed in 3/4 c rice (all that was left!) and make shrimp, corn, and rice.  Also really yummy – and, I cleaned out the cupboards!

4 Responses to “Shrimp & Corn Turnovers”

  1. Dad December 14, 2009 at 9:01 pm #

    Are there leftovers?

  2. Dawn Beachley December 15, 2009 at 1:20 pm #

    I used to “clean out the cupboards” too! Just not so creatively!

  3. Julie Gaver January 8, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

    Kate – this looks so yummy. I can’t wait to try some. I LOVE your site. Keep up the good work. I plan on spreading the word.

Leave a Reply

