Let in snow, let it snow, let it snow

19 Dec

Is it gourmet playdough if you add glitter? 

SOS! We ran out of milk!  We have a few slices of bread, so hopefully we’ll make it through – I’ve used up the flour to make playdough.

This is the best playdough – smooth, and not a bit sticky.  It keeps for a long time too if you keep it well sealed.  I made some a few months ago, and had a madeline moment while cooking it – the smell reminded me of being a kid and playing with playdough. 

Last time I made a bunch of funky colors. but they blend really well, so I went with primary colors this time. 

Playdough

  • 2 c flour
  • 2 c warm water
  • 1 c salt
  • 2 T vegetable oil
  • 1 T cream of tartar

In a large saucepan, combine all the ingredients.  Cook over medium-low heat, stirring constantly, until mixture thickens and comes together.  If its too soft, keep cooking. 

Remove from heat and cool until you can handle it.  Knead until it is silky smooth.  Divide dough into however many colors you want.  Roll each piece into a ball, make an indentation in the center, and add a few drops of food coloring.  Knead until the color is uniform.  Add glitter if you want!

Keep covered tightly and it will last a long time.

3 Responses to “Let in snow, let it snow, let it snow”

  1. Dad December 20, 2009 at 10:22 pm #

    What’s a “madeline moment?” This isn’t the first time I’ve had to inquire about some esoteric bit of vocabulary in this blog. Didn’t I previously suggest a glossary?

    Dad

    • Kate December 20, 2009 at 10:43 pm #

      I’m disappointed – you of all people should be familiar with Proust’s madeleine. Though I admit I spelled it incorrectly the first time, and I took the liberty of equating my remembrance to smell rather than taste.

  2. Yeon December 21, 2009 at 10:17 am #

    I made a play dough from flour a long time ago – it was for an art class and I thought I was very creative! Mine was good to play with, but then they dried, cracked and went bad. Now I see you actually cook yours first! I should give it a try!

Leave a Reply

