Chocolate Covered Grahams

5 Sep

I never considered making graham crackers until I saw this recipe.  As far as I’m concerned, graham crackers are to make crust for cheesecake, and not really worth much thought on their own.  But they’re really easy, and really good, and when you happen to have leftover chocolate ganache in the fridge to spread on top, they are divine.

I followed the recipe just as written, except I didn’t sift the dry ingredients, since I save that for special occasions.  I do not have a fancy fluted pastry wheel, but used my pizza cutter to make squares and a fluted heart cookie cutter for the rest.  If you cut out squares then put them on the baking sheet right next to each other, they’ll bake together and make a perforation you can break apart just like the packaged grahams.

If you don’t happen to keep chocolate ganache handy, here’s how to make some:  In a double boiler, melt 8 ounces chopped semisweet chocolate and 2 tablespoons corn syrup.  Remove from heat and whisk in 1/2 cup half and half, beating until smooth.  Cool to room temperature and spread on cooled crackers.  Leftovers will keep in the fridge – bring to room temperature before using.

If you want to make these outrageously fancy, sprinkle some sea salt on top.  I love Malden sea salt.  The salt crystals are flaked, and a few grains will transform a meal.  My husband and I love it on top eggs, or sprinkled on buttered bread.  You can order it from Amazon – don’t use it to cook with, since it dissolved just like regular salt.  I keep a jar on the stove for easy sprinkling.

2 Responses to “Chocolate Covered Grahams”

  1. Dad September 8, 2010 at 8:16 pm #

    Kate,

    Glad to have you back! I was wondering about the fate of the blog. I look forward to regular posts.

    Here’s a fascinating video from TED, especially in the middle when the speaker asks kids to identify vegetables: http://www.ted.com/talks/lang/eng/jamie_oliver.html

    But also read a reply: http://www.alternet.org/food/146354/how_tv_superchef_jamie_oliver%27s_%27food_revolution%27_flunked_out?page=entire

    Also, thanks for the graham tip. I always wonder what to do about all the leftover chocolate ganache that keeps filling up my fridge.

    Dad

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. S’mores 2.0 « an intermittent gourmet ~ real food, real life - September 17, 2010

    […] Sep Remember the chocolate covered grahams?  They were amazing.  My marshmallow making experiment – not so successful.  I ended up […]

Leave a Reply

