Barbecue Pork Sandwiches

24 Sep

I’ve been experimenting with barbecue sauce recipes, and this one from Simply Recipes is my current favorite.  I cooked it for about and hour then pureed it in the food processor.  The barbecue sauce comes together pretty quickly, but this batch took awhile, because I decided to make homemade ketchup the same day.  I used all the tomatoes for the ketchup, then I remembered I was supposed to same some for the barbecue sauce.  So I had to finish the ketchup first, then make the sauce.

The pork is easy – season a pork shoulder with salt and pepper, add some dried hot peppers, garlic, and onions if you’re feeling spicy, and cook in a slow cooker on low overnight, or 8-12 hours.  Cool, then discard fat and shred the meat.  If I’m feeling very motivated, I might sear the pork on all sides in a Dutch oven before slow cooking, but this involves and extra cleaning step, so it isn’t a necessity.

Pork on Foodista

Leave a Reply

