Doughnuts a.k.a. Kinklings

14 Feb

I’m not much for Valentine’s Day, so just so we’re clear: these are not Valentine’s Day doughnuts, they’re just doughnuts I happened to make on Valentine’s Day.

My grandmother makes doughnuts every year on Fat Tuesday.  I routinely eat a dozen.  Luckily, Fat Tuesday is only once a year, and they’re too much trouble for me to make very often.  They’re really not that much trouble – it just takes some time to fry them.  I made the dough last night and let it rise in the refrigerator.  I made some with cinnamon sugar this time, but nothing beats plain powdered sugar as far as I’m concerned.

They’re only good the day you make them, and this recipe makes a lot, so invite your friends.  I don’t know many people that won’t make a special trip for fresh homemade doughnuts.

Grandma’s Yeast Doughnuts

Add 2 packages yeast to 1/2 c warm water and let sit for 5 minutes.

Mix together 2 c lukewarm milk, 1/2 c sugar, and 2 tsp salt.  Stir in yeast mixture.

Add 2 eggs, slightly beaten, 1/2 c vegetable oil, and 7-8 c flour.  Knead until dough is smooth and elastic. If using an electric mixer, divide the dough in half and knead half at a time.  Put dough in a large, oiled bowl, and cover with a towel.  Let rise in a warm place until double, 1-2 hours.  Or, cover with plastic wrap and let rise overnight in the refrigerator.

Divide dough into 4 pieces.  Roll out one piece at a time to about 1/4″ thick.  Cut out doughnuts using a sharp cookie cutter.  Lay on a sheet pan, cover with a towel, and let rise again, about 30 minutes.

*I use a pastry tip for the centers.  Roll out all four pieces of dough, then combine the scraps and roll one more time.  Use the remaining scraps for test dough and pesky family members.

Heat 3-4″ of vegetable oil in a large dutch oven to about 350°.    You may need to adjust the temperature as you’re frying.  Test the oil with a scrap of dough.  The oil should sizzle gently when you add the dough, and the dough should float quickly to the surface.  Add 3-4 doughnuts at a time – don’t crowd the pan.  Cook 30 seconds-1 minutes until lightly browned.  Flip, cook other side, and drain on paper towels.

*The doughnuts go from golden to nearly burnt very quickly.  Turn down the temperature if they brown too quickly, and don’t add more than you can quickly remove.  I use a 2 pronged meat serving fork to flip and remove.

Add 1 c powdered sugar, or 1 c superfine sugar and 2 T cinnamon to a large paper bag.  When the doughnuts are cool enough to handle, add several at a time to the bag and shake to coat.  Remove and lay on clean paper towels.  Lay another paper towel over the doughnuts – don’t cover them tightly or with plastic.

2 Responses to “Doughnuts a.k.a. Kinklings”

  1. Dad February 15, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

    I made the trip–and very definitely worth it! I would differ slightly on next-day donuts. I had one with my coffee this morning (the best time for them!) and found it still delightful.

    Dad

  2. Elissa Pugh March 16, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    I’m so glad you wrote this! You know I love them!

Leave a comment