Mini Cheddar Biscuits – Gluten Free!

24 Apr

I admit, when I began testing recipes for my Go Gluten Free cooking class, I expected to find some good ones, but nothing to replace wheat flour.  I don’t know why – there’s nothing inherently special about wheat – it just happens to have become the norm.  I thought biscuits would be a big challenge, but I honestly wouldn’t have known these were gluten free had I not made them myself.  They have a slightly chewier texture than wheat biscuits, but not enough to notice unless you were comparing the two.  I based the recipe on another from Bob’s Red Mill website.  The original recipe calls for pressing the dough flat and cutting into rounds, but after mixing the dough, I decided to do a drop biscuit instead since it was so moist.  My favorite drop biscuits have cheddar cheese, so it wasn’t too much of a stretch to add some to the gluten free version.  You can leave it out if you don’t eat cheese or dairy.  Some fresh thyme thrown in wouldn’t hurt either.

Mini Gluten Free Cheddar Biscuits

  • 1/2 c sorghum flour
  • 1/4 c potato starch
  • 1/4 c tapioca flour
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 T baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1/ tsp salt
  • 1/4 c butter
  • 1/2 c buttermilk
  • 1/3 c shredded cheddar cheese

Preheat oven to 450°.  Stir together dry ingredients in a medium bowl.  Cut in butter until mixture resembles small peas.  Add buttermilk and cheese, and stir gently until buttermilk is incorporated and dough thickens.

Drop 12 spoonfuls onto a non-stick baking sheet.  Bake 9-10 minutes until beginning to brown on top.  Serve warm.

Leave a comment